University of Otago Website

Three Minute Thesis Competition 2011

Partial text:

“The 2011 Three Minute Thesis Competition final was held on Wednesday 31 August in the Dunedin College of Education Auditorium, and was also streamed live online. With the help
of only one static slide, nine finalists from across the university had just three minutes each in which to present their doctoral research.

Our panel of judges was chaired by Vice-Chancellor Harlene Hayne, who was assisted by Professor Lyall Hanton from the Department of Chemistry and Associate Professor Paul Hansen from the Department of Economics.

Congratulations to Jack Rivers from the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, whose talk on medical marijuana earned him the Supreme Award. Jack received a $2000 study grant, and airfares and accommodation to represent Otago at the Australasian Three Minute Thesis Competition at the University of Western Australia in Perth, which was held on 29 September 2011. Jack also gave an impressive performance at this event, taking out the People’s Choice Award, and his winning presentation can be viewed here.


11. November 2011 by jackrrivers
Categories: MEDIA | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *